Resources

resources

Truth is right now I’m emotional and I’ve sat here most of the night in tears. I’ve been fighting with myself. The fighter in me says I can get through this and I’ll come out on top. It’s a challenge I can over come. But the weak, dependant part of me says to throw up my hands and give up. It’s easy to say, easy to do but it gets me absolutely no whereMy belongings all packed and ready for today’s trip to my mom’s. Have lunch and do her laundry for her then head downtown to the winter emergency shelter. I’d like to say that this will be easy and I wont be homeless for very long. Truth is I know one lady who was homeless for 10 years before she was able to get a stable apartment and get on her feet.

A few of the resources I’m using that you might find something similar in your state are listed below. There’s more and I’ll add them in future posts as well as I make use of them.

411

It’s a telephone resource that can put you in touch with places that might be able to help. They can give you references to shelters, soup kitchens, and other programs for just about anything including for the homeless. Just dial 411 and find possible places that will reach out a helping hand.

Local Shelters

Most towns/states have them. Some are for emergency shelter and others will be able to give you a bed, referrals, references and even councilors and/or case workers. These are valuable and although most that I’ve contacted in my area are usually full they may be able to guide you to temporary places that are safe for you to stay in on an as needed basis or night by night.

Food Shelves

Food shelves are there to help with emergency food. If your in need of a place to get food until your check, food stamps come in. Some even give you a place to do a load of laundry, a shower, to cook your food and may have a donation area where you can find clothes, shoes, boots, etc… Another priceless resource!

Soup Kitchens

My town has three or four of these in different places that have a free meal (usually a lunch) on certain days of the week. They don’t cost anything to eat at and depending on the place and donations depends on the food they serve. A great way to pay back for the free food is to volunteer to help out too!

Unemployment & Welfare Offices

Our state actually has a program for able bodies who get food stamps is to do a job search program. I’m also added to another program that will help me with training and placement for work due to being homeless. I start both of these programs this coming Tuesday and I have to search for work a certain amount of hours a week to continue receiving food stamps. My plan here is to get a job as soon as possible. I don’t want to accept the foodstamps but I have to eat and will only be accepting them as long as I only need them. It’s not embarrassing for me but I am able to work, I don’t like using the system when I shouldn’t have to. A personal preference. Tax payers pay into it and I appreciate being able to eat but I don’t think they should support me if they don’t have to.

The welfare office will also be able to give you more information on other recources too that your town or state might have. Our town has a resource that once you get your job they will help you with your security deposit on your apartment. And there’s more.. I’ll add them as well in future posts as they are made available to me.

So with this I end here. I’m still in crying mode and I need to get it out. This is going to be one hell of a ride and not a fun one either!

Leave a Reply

