Expected & Unpleasant

ExpectedUnpleasant.png

It’s been a while since I posted and figured I’d get you caught up on the happenings of my life. I do have to let you know that I do not know how often I’ll be posting but will do what I can, when I can.

For the last month and a half to two months I’d been helping a friend out since she’d broke her pelvic in four places. She’s recupperated and now my help is no longer needed. An expected situation. When I agreed to help I knew it would only be temporary. Unpleasant in a few different ways. Because now this leaves me literally homeless in the worst months of the year. Tomorrow I gather my belongings and head either for a place to put my tent and sleeping blankets or the emergency winter shelter at my church. I will probably opt for the church since the weather is nearly all but freezing temps and a free meal is available as well. This isn’t all bad to be honest. This will give me some opportunity to be closer to where I need to look for work and go to appointments. Where I’ve been staying I have to walk 3 miles into town, walk around town to do my errands and then walk back to the house. Inconvenient and even though weight loss and getting into shape are bonuses I don’t want to walk a round trip of six plus miles and stand on my feet 8 hours a day if/when I get a decent job.

My intentions are to blog about this situation and what I perceive. Everything from the shelter, food, appointments etc… Until I’ve accomplished getting a job, a stable place to live and get myself situated into a life where all I have to do is worry about paying my own bills and taking care of myself and not anyone else.

Truth be told I’ve never had to worry about being independant. Everyone always took care of me (without me even asking) and I am knew to all of this struggle of doing what I need to. I am hoping that you take the journey with me and see where this leads to. Maybe there is someone reading this who is going through what I am and this helps. This really does give a whole new meaning to “LIFE ONE POST AT A TIME”.

First thing first: Being homeless is not ‘A Choice’ for me. I have no other option, no family or friends that can help me out. I will be doing a job search and a placement training program as well as making a daily call in for bed checks on the shelter’s bed availability for a more stable shelter of sorts. My mother will also be allowing me to take showers, and cook at her apartment..but will not be staying there.

Secondly: I’ll be using all the available resources and help that I can. Each state is different and may have similar programs to help but will share what I can in hopes that it helps someone else out if they find themselves in a similar situation.

Last but not least: I will not give up. I will continue to fight for a place of my own, a job and to get back on my feet.

So with that said. I end this post here and will update as soon as I am able.

2 thoughts on “Expected & Unpleasant

  1. So sorry that you are in this situation. You sound like a very strong person. I’ve been stuck couchsurfing for months on end but never had to check into a shelter. I was very lucky. I hope that this is a very temporary situation for you and I am glad you will be able to cook at your mom’s!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

